Skip to content

Reflections on a Productive Week

July 11, 2009

Last entry I was lamenting my busy upcoming week. I survived in fine fashion and had some excellent meetings. The Adirondack Curriculum Project had its semi-annual meeting Tuesday and they continue to do terrific things for those that would like to make sure they are teaching to the state standards but would also like to use the Adirondack Park as the theme. They have nearly 100 constructivist-based challenges on their website that can easily be adapted to a variety of grade levels.

Tuesday, as chair of the local planning board, hosted the Village of Saranac Lake & Town of Harrietstown official unveiling of their joint preliminary draft of the Comprehensive Plan. Over sixty people attended and I felt very good about the feedback we collected. The Adirondack Daily Enterprise provided good coverage as did WNBZ. I felt particularly good that the PowerPoint that I prepared and Jeremy Evans presented was well received.

Wednesday I hosted a meeting of select Outdoor Guides for the group developing an Essex County Tourism Plan. The planning efforts for tourisim were explained and input was solicited from the guides. I expect future meetings will determine the role guides want to make in bringing the plan to life.

Friday Zoe Smith of the Wildlife Conservation Society’s Adirondack Communities and Conservation Program and I met with the publisher and editor of the Adirondack Daily Enterprise to discuss the possibility of partnering in publishing an outdoor education piece on how to safely use the public land in the Adirondack Park in conjunction with their publication entitled EMBARK. The meeting was extremely successful and we hope to nail down a more formal agreement in the near future.

Finally Friday afternoon I made a presentation to a group of visiting Chinese natural resource land managers. Their three-day visit to the Adirondack Park was sponsored by the East-West Center. My presentation, at the Wild Center, was titled "The Adirondacks through My Eyes" and attempted to describe my thoughts on the Adirondack Park by following my life, from childhood to today. They seemed to really appreciate how I told the story through my personal life.

It was a busy but fulfilling week. On the personal front my wife, Phyllis, closed on the purchase of nine acres of forested land not too far from our house. It looks like we’ll have a good supply of firewood on hand. We also bought more shares in the community owned "Community Store". I have high hopes that it will soon become a reality.

This coming week isn’t quite as hectic. I travel to Albany on Tuesday to make a presentation on Higher Order Thinking Skills to a group of trainers with the Rehabilitation Research and Training Institute.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

