Skip to content

Wilderness Recreation Leadership Reunion – Dinner Update!

October 27, 2009

Paul Petzoldt and Jack Drury at the Mark Twain Camp

Paul Petzoldt and Jack Drury at the Mark Twain Camp

Dinner Update

I just confirmed plans for dinner at 6:30 PM Saturday night at the Lodge in Lake Clear. Our hosts Cathy and Ernest Hohmeyer will have their Classic fare which consists of their Adirondack Harvest with an Old World twist 3-course dinner.  It includes an Adirondack Harvest soup, a Fallfest salad and your choice of 5 main entrees. The cost is $40 per person plus tax and gratuity. There will be a cash bar and I’ll be donating the appetizers. Dessert is extra.

Please bring photos, videos or just old tales of your adventures at NCCC.

The Plan

Plans have been modified for the 30th Anniversary celebration of the North Country Community College’s Wilderness Recreation Leadership Program but it is still on.  The Waterhole is saving the upstairs for a Friday (November 13) night gathering (7:30 PM until ?) and for those that want to stay through Saturday we will have a dutch treat dinner at the Lodge in Lake Clear. I need a confirmation from  you so I can plan appropriately. I’m hoping that we can get a great turn out to share stories and remember good times!

Please drop me an email or leave a comment here if you plan on attending.

I hope you can join us.

22 Comments leave one →
  1. Kim/Eric permalink
    October 27, 2009 9:14 pm

    Thanks for organizing this Jack.

  2. Moss McCurdy permalink
    October 27, 2009 9:55 pm

    Thanks Jack! We love you!
    I plan on coming! Moss

  3. Doug Fitzgerald permalink
    October 27, 2009 11:09 pm

    I plan on being there.

  4. Doc Forgey permalink
    October 28, 2009 12:05 am

    Jack I really wish I could be there. Congratulations on so many years of hard work and great accomplishments.

  5. Eric Holmlund permalink
    October 28, 2009 7:45 am

    What do folks think about having the dinner at Lake Clear Lodge as originally planned? Maybe we could order off the menu. It’s a nice place to gather. It is pretty expensive, but the food is locally sourced and it’s a locally owned, sustainable business. If cost is a consideration, then the banquet room at Nona Fina is nice for this type of gathering. I think it wouuld be nice to be able to show slides/video- I think jack has a nice presentation of Paul Petzoldt video clips he can show. I also have an old VHS tape of a video profile of the WRL program dating from the late ’80’s. It shows Duane Gould with a huge afro and shots of other shaggy WRL students. (Not to mention Jack with red hair- rather shocking.)

    • jkdrury permalink*
      October 28, 2009 9:20 am

      Eric,
      We’ll have to check with the Lake Clear Lodge. They were thinking of going on vacation if we didn’t have enough people for a full-fledged dinner. I’ll try to give them a call today.

  6. Dave Meade permalink
    October 28, 2009 10:56 am

    My wife and I will be there.

  7. Steve Campbell permalink
    October 28, 2009 11:31 am

    I plan to be at the Water Hole Friday night.

  8. Steve Campbell permalink
    October 28, 2009 11:32 am

    I am planning on showing up.

  9. Sean Kullman permalink
    October 28, 2009 8:08 pm

    Sounds like a good time. I will plan to be there.

  10. October 29, 2009 12:42 pm

    I plan on attending.

  11. Joe Bentley permalink
    October 29, 2009 8:53 pm

    Love to see everyone however I have already made plans for a hunting trip- being somewhat local in Plattsburgh and weekends ain Mt View, I am sure I can visit some of the folks in the area at a later date. Have fun and god bless- i hate to miss it however whitetails call.- peace- joe

    • jkdrury permalink*
      October 29, 2009 10:12 pm

      Good luck getting your deer Joe. I’ll be hunting hard the week before so hopefully I’ll have a buck hanging by the time of the reunion.

  12. Steve Campbell permalink
    October 30, 2009 8:49 am

    i’m in Jack

  13. Doug Fitzgerald permalink
    October 30, 2009 9:38 pm

    Jan and I are planning to be there.

  14. Fiona Hopkins permalink
    November 4, 2009 4:45 pm

    Hello Jack,
    I believe Doug and I will see you Saturday. I may make it to Friday evening as well. 😉

  15. Mike Crawford permalink
    November 9, 2009 10:04 am

    Wish I could make it, sounds like a lot of fun!
    Good luck getting your buck Jack!

    • jkdrury permalink*
      November 10, 2009 9:00 pm

      Great to hear from you Mike! Sorry you can’t join us. I had a couple of shots during muzzle loader season but no bucks yet.

  16. Marc Galvin permalink
    November 10, 2009 6:34 pm

    I will try to swing over. Would be great to see everyone.
    Cheers

    Marc

    • jkdrury permalink*
      November 10, 2009 8:59 pm

      Great Marc. We look forward to seeing you!

  17. Scott MacLean permalink
    November 19, 2009 6:46 pm

    Sorry I missed the event, I’m sure it was full of good times and bad stories. I would love to be notified of events associated with WEA and the people involved with the program. Hey Joe B. are you ever going to call me back! I know the deer calls. Just a note to anyone interested, I had a few cocktails with Mike Yaw this past summer in Lake George and he is doing well. On a side note; he looks old. Ha Ha! I can be contacted at
    smaclean@waukeganparks.org

    • jkdrury permalink*
      November 19, 2009 10:42 pm

      Scott,
      Great to hear from you. I will definitely keep you posted know that I have your email address. I hope you are doing well.
      Jack

Leave a Reply

