Skip to content

Fall 2009 – Latest News

November 11, 2009

I haven’t had time to write much lately. Between catching up on paperwork here in the office, working in Rensselaerville, Albany, and here in Saranac Lake and big game hunting season up here in the northern zone I’ve been extremely active.

In mid October I helped facilitate the annual retreat for Parent To Parent of NY. I’ve been working with the fine people of Parent To Parent since the fall of 2002 and most recently have been helping them develop a strategic plan. This year’s retreat focused on three things:

  • Learning from each other
  • Recognizing the inevitability of change and ways P2P might embrace it
  • Understanding the role of the “Leadership Team”
  • Understanding the different grant objectives the entire organization works under

It was a successful 2-day event with all the outcomes being addressed. I really enjoy working with the folks of Parent To Parent. They all have children with special needs and have had more than there fair share of  life’s challenges to deal with yet are an extremely upbeat group helping others to deal with similar issues.

After a fun week of muzzleload deer hunting (one deer for the three of us) here in the Adirondacks I spent the first week of November working with the Capital Region BOCES on the 3-day Part B of a Critical Skills/SPEC Institute. The group was exclusively made up of vocational teachers and they embraced the CS/SPEC model and had some very positive experiences implementing it in their various disciplines. (Nursing, Business, Criminal Justice, and Construction) It was a great group to work with and it is fun to see teachers find such success in their classroom. Outcomes for the Institute include:

  • Having a novice understanding of the CS/SPEC model and methods to implement it.
  • The ability to use a variety of strategies for building classroom community
  • The ability to turn curriculum into small group challenges connected to state standards
  • The ability to provide students with appropriate assessment/feedback using check list rubrics based on criteria for quality

"The Archeological Dig"

 

 

 

 

 

 

(See more pictures here)

This past week I hunted for about 4 days without any luck and attempted to catch up on paperwork. In addition I have had and have scheduled a number of exciting meetings about issues I hope to share more about in the future.

Finally this weekend will be a celebration of the 30th anniversary of North Country Community College’s Wilderness Recreation Leadership Program. Approximately 25 people will be coming to town to share memories of their experiences at NCCC. It should be fun.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Linda Keifer permalink
    January 2, 2010 8:22 pm

    Jack:
    Leading Edge was excellent! Many things I learned in your class, I use today in my classroom. It is really working! I was wondering how I go about getting my certificate that I attended 6 days of this program? Could you please let me know. Thank you. Linda

    • jkdrury permalink*
      January 5, 2010 5:10 pm

      Hi Linda,
      Thanks for the kind comments. I thought the BOCES was providing diplomas. I’ll be glad to provide one. Let me know what address I should send it to.
      Regards,
      Jack

Leave a Reply

