Skip to content

The Fun Continues in Estes Park

February 19, 2010

The fun continues here at the Wilderness Education Association Conference here in Estes Park, CO. I wrapped up the Instructor Training Clinic yesterday afternoon with WEA President Chris Pelchat and Executive Director Mary Williams providing an overview of the new WEA accreditation process. They were able to answer questions I could not.

After the ITC wrapped up I saw lots of colleagues as they streamed in for the official start of the conference. Part of the kick off to the conference was me sharing some of my video of Paul Petzoldt telling two of his classic stories. The crowd appeared to enjoy it. One highlight of the evening was meeting NOLS Curriculum and Research Manager John Gookin. I have been familiar with John’s work for quite a while but we had never crossed paths. He is the recipient of this year’s Paul Petzoldt Award.

After a couple of beers with colleagues I headed to bed concerned that I hadn’t put enough planning into my workshop I was to facilitate this morning titled, “SPEC Challenges: What’s Working and What Isn’t.” I got up early and created a rough outlined and winged it. The group seemed to enjoy it. It is fun to see how the SPEC approach works in both the wilderness and classroom environments.

After sitting through a workshop on formative and summative assessment I went into to town to have lunch with my friend Marge Smith who I haven’t seen in three years. We had fun catching up over an excellent lunch at the Sweet Basilico Café. I’m catching my breath (literally hear at 7500 ft in elevation) before tonight’s activities. I head home late tomorrow night. After a week on the road I’m ready.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

